Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Gypsy
Avg. Customer Review (4.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 8
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews
Back to Paged View  


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

YOU MUST SEE THIS SHOW!!!!, Mar 28, 2008
reviewer: F Messina from Nyc,Ny
From the minute the Orchestra starts the overture,(Played by the most amazing musicians on Broadway!)You know by the chills on the back of your neck that you're in for something special.Ms.Lupone's Mama Rose is nothing short of genius.As are the performances of Boyd Gaines, Laura Benanti,Leigh Ann Larkin,Tony Yazbeck and the rest of the brilliant cast. Directed by the amazing Arthur Laurents, There are no tricks here. Just amazing music an amazing story and amazing staging performed with truth and honesty. We saw the final matinee before opening and had great seats although the St. James Theatre has good sightlines so that shouldn't be a worry. Gypsy isn't exactlly a "kid friendly" show so I would save It for parents night out. There are a gazillion restaurants nearby so thats no issue. All in all, If you want to see the best show in town, It's arrived! And Its called GYPSY!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

most electrifying broadway musical performance in history, Jul 24, 2008
reviewer: Jerry and Belle Jewler from Columbia, SC
We flew up for one day from South Carolina. It cost a thousand bucks and we got socked in overnight at LaGuardia, but we wouldn't have missed Patti LuPone's Gypsy for the world. You have NOT seen great musical theatre if you miss this one. Staging, cast, orchestra, production--everything blew us away. But Patti is the rich and delectably delicious icing on the cake. We left the matinee starry- eyed, drank a few martinis next door, and thanked our lucky stars for this experience of a lifetime. Go, Patti! Brava! Brava! Brava!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

An Entertaining Night Out, Apr 14, 2008
reviewer: Azizz Momina from Anytown, AT 55555
While many in the audience are drawn to Gypsy due to Patti LuPone's performance, I went in with no expectations. I should say that while LuPone is a talented performer, I was most moved by Laura Benanti as Louise. The plot is fun and easy to follow, and while the story draws you in emotionally, it also provides comedic, laugh out loud moments. It is a great way to spend your evening and will not displease. As an earlier reviewer mentioned, this show is suggested for mature audiences. I would also say that there is very little "wow" factor; it is low budget and high talent. Therefore, I would not suggest Gypsy to someone who has limited exposure to Broadway productions, there are other shows out there that will give you more bang for your buck. On the other hand, if you're looking for something with more substance and don't need all the "hype" Gypsy may be just the show for you.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Saw it twice, May 08, 2008
reviewer: DJR from Philadelphia
Saw it twice in one week. That says it all. Absolutely fantastic. Had no interest in the show but like LuPone. I was blown away by the whole production. One of the best performances I've seen in my lifetime. One gentleman sitting behind me actually saw the original with Merman. He said LuPone was superior.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Patti LuPone in Gyspy? Eh...Okay, Mar 30, 2008
reviewer: Miranda from NJ
I was so excited to see Patti in one of the greatest roles written for a diva. But she was too emotionally availble to the audience for my taste. She was amazing and very funny but wasn't Rose, persay. Leigh Ann Larkin as Danity June was AWFUL!!! Omg! The worst actress I have ever seen!! Laura Benati was fantastic though and that final seen with Patti was so heart wrenching I'd go just for that. Boyd Gaines was perfect as Herbie, could sing and dance and a really great actor. Tulsa was okay but nothing more. I loved and love Patti but she wasn't Rose and was much better in Sweeney than Gypsy. But I must say she delivered an amazing Rose's Turn. Plus wtf was with that sign at the end? It was so random and left the show in such an awkward place I couldn't stand that, especially when the show's ending was already so good. In the end it's an okay production and honestly nothing more.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A MUST SEE DON'T MISS THIS!!!!, Apr 29, 2008
reviewer: trae112 from New Jersey
The last time I felt this lucky was when as a very young child I was able to see Ethel Merman in Hello Dolly, Victor Garber in Godspell, Patti Lupone as Evita, and Irene Ryan/Ben Vereen in Pippin. I count this experience up among those earlier ones. I will definitely be bragging I got to see Patti Lupone in Gypsy. Patti's voice in unbelievable and she delivers these great lyrics with a real punch. I had chills from the moment the orchestra began and all the way through. The acting and singing are more than entertaining. It's just thrilling!!! The only thing I would change is at the very end..I would have Gyosy and Rose walk off arm in arm. It's a wonderful night in theatre and I hope this show lasts a very long time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent Revival, Go For It!, Jun 28, 2008
reviewer: lks from NJ
I was lucky enough to see Ethel Merman as the original Gypsy so was a little nervous that today's show wouldn't live up to my memory, but I certainly was not disappointed! Patti LuPone is no Ethel Merman, but why would anyone expect her to be? She's herself as Rose, and what a fabulous Rose she is! The story stays focused, the show moves quickly and the supporting cast shines from start to finish. Unlike many revivals, this show is not dated, it never looks tired, and the plot centering on a pushy has-been stage mother is as timely today as it was when it was written. The band, the costumes, Robbins' choreography, the sound & lighting are all top notch. Laura Benanti as Louise blossoms into Gypsy Rose Lee and deservedly, nearly steals the show. Go ahead, take the kids; this is a piece of B'way history they shouldn't miss!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The second half will make the first half worth the wait., Apr 06, 2008
reviewer: Michael H. Ostrom from Santa Monica, California
The opening of the show is nicely done and the cast is clearly talented, but there is just something missing from the first half of Gypsy. If you are familiar with the show, you know what's coming and I think that motivates you to want to see more and get to the stuff that will really knock your socks off. When Ms. LuPone makes her way through the audience for the first big number, up to the stage, your heart will skip a beat. She is flawless and powerful. The second act, again, really shows you what she's got. The other cast members are talented, but LuPone is the driving force behind this version of the famed musical. I still think that Bette Midler's version of Gypsy, taped for telelvision in the early 90's, is the best Mama Rose of all time. Ms. LuPone does a fine job with the role and the closing number, "Rose's Turn" proves that.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Exceptional, May 01, 2008
reviewer: Tracie from Houston,TX
Loved it from beginning to end. If you are looking for a must not miss show on Broadway, I would HIGHLY recommend this one. Ms. Lapone is nothing short of FANTASTIC.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review